Honoured Members Database

<< Back to Previous Page

Lloyd Gunnlaugson (December 18, 1928 - June 5, 1988)

Inducted 1990

Lloyd Gunnlaugson was born in Glenboro, Manitoba. During his distinctive curling career as a skip, Gunnlaugson led his Valour Road Curling Club teams to four successive Manitoba Senior men's titles from 1982-85 and went on to win three Canadian championships from 1982-84. Toro Suzuki, Albert Olson, Elgin Christianson, Dennis Reid, Ray Machan, and Jim Harris were the teammates who assisted the "Gunner" in these achievements.

Gunnlaugson was the only Manitoban to have won three consecutive national curling titles in any event. Yet another unprecedented feat came in 1983 when Gunnlaugson "doubled" in skipping a team consisting of different personnel (Bob Davidson, Gorde Patterson, and Harold Johannson) to the Manitoba Tankard championship. That achievement earned Gunnlaugson a runner-up selection as Manitoba Male Athlete of the Year.

Gunnlaugson gave much to the sport of curling. In 1976, he purchased the Valour Road Curling Club and served on its executive for twenty-five years. During his five years as a member of the executive council of the Manitoba Curling Association, Gunnlaugson's influence elevated the organization of senior curling in berth bonspiels and the McDiarmid Lumber event of the MCA Bonspiel.

In March of 1987, Gunnlaugson was afflicted with a serious illness and his determination and courage in the months that followed will always be remembered in Manitoba curling circles. Lloyd Gunnlaugson passed away in 1988 but his memory has been preserved by the Gunnlaugson Memorial Senior Bonspiel held annually at the Valour Road Club. He was elected as an Honourary Life Member of the Manitoba Curling Association in 1988 and was posthumously inducted into the Canadian Curling Hall of Fame in 1989.

Lloyd Gunnlaugson is also a member of the Manitoba Curling Hall of Fame.

Photo Gallery