Honoured Members Database

<< Back to Search Results

Cec Watt (October 15, 1923 - September 15, 2006)

Inducted 1993

If you have curled in Manitoba in the last 50 years, chances are Cec Watt's contributions have had an impact in some way, shape or form on you. His administrative duties with the sport began in 1947, when he was elected to the executive of the Elmwood Curling Club. Ten years later Watt became its president. A similar pattern developed at the provincial level. Watt joined the Manitoba Curling Association executive in 1959 and eleven years later was elected to its top position. On the national stage, his Canadian Curling Association presidency co-incided with Kerry Burtnyk's 1981 Brier victory.

Watt has been a part of just about every major national and international curling event staged in Winnipeg, including the 1970 Brier (chairman), the 1978 Silver Broom (V.P., accommodations and entertainment) and the 1991 World Curling Championships (Bid committee - V.P., Hosting). Watt has served all ages, in the mid-70's he acted as vice chairman of the Canadian Senior Men's Committee and oversaw the transition from the School Boys Championships to the junior men's program. In 1978, he was chairman of the Curl Canada Development Committee. Watt was chosen to chair the 100th Anniversary Committee of the MCA from 1985-88.

Cec Watt was a director of the Canadian Curling Hall of Fame and Museum for twelve years; he also was the founding director of the Manitoba Curling Hall of Fame and Museum. He was named an Honourary Life Member of the MCA in 1972. In 1986, he was elected to the Canadian Curling Hall of Fame. He was inducted into the Manitoba Curling Hall of Fame in 1996.

Photo Gallery