Honoured Members Database

<< Back to Search Results

1901 Winnipeg Victorias

Inducted 2004

1901 Winnipeg Victorias Hockey Team Roster:

Front Row: Ted Robinson (Secretary), Charlie Johnstone (Rover), Rod Flett (Point), Donald (Dan) Bain (Captain /Centre), Magnus Flett (Cover Point), Art Brown (Goal), Walter Pratt.

Back Row: Mart Hooper (Trainer), Burke Wood (Left Wing), John Marshall (Spare), J.C. (Jack) Armytage (President), G.A. Carruthers, Tony Gingras (Right Wing), Fred Cadham (Spare).


In Manitoba's history, there have only been two hockey teams that have captured the Stanley Cup. The 1896 Winnipeg Victorias were inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1990. It was not until the 1901 Winnipeg Victorias defeated the Montreal Shamrocks, that the title returned to Manitoba.

The Vics travelled east in 1900 to challenge the Shamrocks and won the first contest in February 4-3 (Bain scoring two goals, Gingras and Roxborough one each). The Shamrocks rallied to win 3-2 before 5,000 fans (Johnstone and Campbell scoring for the Vics). In the deciding game, Bain sniped two more, (Gingras and Roxborough scoring singles), but the Vics went down 5-4 and left Quebec empty-handed.

Interest and competition grew and players started to migrate to wherever they deemed the best possibility of a championship. Marshall and Wood quit the Shamrocks and joined the Winnipeg Victorias for the 1901 season. In Game One, Wood scored twice (Gingras and Bain once) in a 4-3 win. On January 31st , after 4 minutes of overtime, the Vics won the Stanley Cup by a score of 2-1. Bain was the hero, scoring both goals.

The 1901 Winnipeg Victorias Hockey team are also members of the Manitoba Hockey Hall of Fame and the Tribune Sports Hall of Fame. 

Photo Gallery