Honoured Members Database

<< Back to Search Results

1913 & 1914 Norwood Wanderers

Inducted 2004

1913 & 1914 Norwood Wanderers Soccer Team Rosters:

Top Row: D.C White (Vice-President), E. Bailey Fisher (M.F.A.), H.M. Sutherland (President).

Middle Row: W. Barron (Trainer), Bert Shoobert, E.A. Billing (Secretary), Miss B. McRobbie (Life Member), J.C. Dunbar (Treasurer), F. Rogers (Manager), S. Sadler (Vice-President),

Bottom Row: J. Steel, F. Cook, W. Anderson, R. Whitehead, A. Shoobert, B. Mayson, H. McMaster, A.Simpson- Captain, W. Bradshaw, W. McFarlane, C.H. Morris, S. Corner, M. Dick, R. Cook, W. Innes.


The decision to have a competition to determine the national football (soccer) champion of Canada was made on May 24, 1912, in Toronto by the Amateur Athletic Union (AAUC). The 1913 Norwood Wanderers Football Club of St. Boniface was the first squad to capture the Connaught Cup, emblematic of the Dominion of Canada (National) Championship in Challenge Cup competition. Held in Thunder Bay, four teams competed on a league basis to determine the national champ: Lachine from Montreal, Fort William C.P.R. from Northern Ontario, Toronto Old Country from Southern Ontario and the Wanderers from Winnipeg.

This club began a mini-dynasty that lasted three years as the 1914 Norwood Wanderers repeated under the league format, and the 1915 Winnipeg Scottish continued the dominance of the national title. By 1915 a best of three final pitting the winners of the East versus the winners of the West replaced the original league format. The Great War halted competition from 1916-18. It would not be until 1955 that each province would send the winners of their own provincial championships to compete for the National Championship of soccer in Canada.

The 1913 & 1914 Norwood Wanderers Soccer teams are also members of the Tribune Sports Hall of Fame.

Photo Gallery