Honoured Members Database

<< Back to Search Results

1915 Winnipeg Scottish

Inducted 2004

1915 Winnipeg Scottish Soccer Team Roster:

Top Row: H. Wood (Right Halfback), A. Dick (Left Back), D. MacNeil (President), C. Findlay (Treasurer), A. Ross (Goal), A. Campbell (Left Half).

Middle Row: W. Corrie (Captain/Inside Right), G. Mair (Centre Forward), G. Gardiner (Right Back), J. Plenderleith (Inside Left).

Bottom Row: W. Anderson (Right Back), J. Anderson (Outside Right), T. Cochrane (Trainer), J. Mills (Secretary), W. Innes (Centre Half), C. Forsyth (Outside Left).


The decision to have a competition to determine the national football (soccer) champion of Canada was made on May 24, 1912 in Toronto by the Amateur Athletic Union (AAUC). The 1913 Norwood Wanderers was the first squad to capture the Connaught Cup, emblematic of the Dominion of Canada (National) Championship in Challenge Cup competition. Held in Thunder Bay, four teams competed on a league basis to determine the national champ: Lachine from Montreal, Fort William C.P.R. from Northern Ontario, Toronto Old Country from Southern Ontario and the Wanderers from Winnipeg. The 1914 Norwood Wanderers repeated under the league format. By 1915 a best of three final pitting the winners of the East versus the winners of the West replaced the original league format. It is fitting that a Manitoban squad still prevailed despite this format change.

The 1915 Winnipeg Scottish continued the West's dominance of the Connaught Cup in capturing the national honours for the third consecutive year. The Great War halted competition from 1916-18. It would not be until 1955 that each province would send the winners of their own provincial championships to compete for the National Championship of soccer in Canada.