Honoured Members Database

<< Back to Search Results

1923 University of Manitoba Juniors

Inducted 2004

1923 U of M Junior Hockey Team Roster:

Top Row: S.B. Field (Secretary/Treasurer), R.L. Bruce (Manager), H. Andrews (President), Hal Moulden (Coach), Walter Robertson (Trainer).

Middle Row: A.I. Chapman (Defence), B.H. Watson (Forward), J.M. Murdoch (Captain/Centre), A.T. Puttee (Goal), J. Mitchell (Forward), A. Johnson (Defence).

Bottom Row: J.A. Wise (Forward), C.E. Williams (Sub Forward), C.S. Doupe (Sub Goal), F. Robertson (Sub Defence), R.E. Moulden (Forward).


The second Manitoban team to capture the prestigious Memorial Cup as junior champions of Canada was the 1923 University of Manitoba Juniors. The squad suffered only one loss in its league play that season, its first game against the Winnipeg Tammany Tigers and their soon-to-be-legendary goalie Chuck Gardiner (inducted in 1989). They qualified for the Abbott Cup with a victory over Brandon and won the Western championship 10-7 in a two game, total-goal series against the Calgary Canadians. The University students travelled to Fort William to meet the home-side Cubs in another two game series that would send the victor to the Memorial Cup finals in Toronto. After a 3-3 tie in game one, the U of M roared back with a 6-1 victory the next night.

On Mar. 22nd, the University of Manitoba Juniors met the Kitchener Colts at the Arena Gardens in Toronto and dominated game one by a score of 7-3. Four nights later they again won 7-3 giving them the series by a 14-6 aggregate. Captain Murray Murdoch led the team scoring 9 of their 14 goals in the 1923 finals. Murdoch would go on to enjoy an 11-year NHL career with the New York Rangers, winning Stanley Cups in 1928 and 1931.

The 1923 U of M Junior Hockey team is also a member of the Manitoba Hockey Hall of Fame and the Tribune Sports Hall of Fame.