Honoured Members Database

<< Back to Previous Page

1959 Winnipeg Blue Bombers

Inducted 2009

1959 Winnipeg Blue Bombers Football Team Roster:

Jim Ausley (Manager), Walt Bilicki, Ken Bochen, Jack Bruzzel, Dave Murkholder, Jack Deleaux, George Druxman, Ferrel Funston, Bud Grant (Head Coach), Herb Gray, George Hils (Vice-President), Gerry James, Henry Janzen, Bob Jownes (Equipment Manager), Tony Kehrer, Ed Kotowich, Ken Kovacs (Water Boy), Ron Latourelle, Leo Lewis, Cec Luining, Gord Mackie (Trainer), Ron Meadmore, Johnny Michels (Assistant Coach), Ted Mikliechuk, Nick Miller, Ralph Parliament (President), Steve Patrick, Cornell Piper, Ernie Pitts, Ken Ploen, Rick Potter, Norm Rauhaus, Frank Rigney, Rae Ross, Gordie Rowland, Roger Savoie, Carver Shannon, Charlie Shepard, Buddy Tinsley, Jim Van Pelt, Pop Varnes (Equipment Manager), Gar Warren, Keith Webster, Joe Zaleski (Assistant Coach).


The Winnipeg Blue Bombers football club enjoyed a dynasty in the late 50's and early 60's that older fans fondly remember as the "Bud Grant Era" - four Grey Cup championships in five years from 1958 -62.

Following the Grey Cup title of 1958, their first Canadian Football League (CFL) championship in fifteen years, the Blue Bombers enjoyed a remarkable regular season in 1959. They finished first in the West Division with a 12-4 record and gained a first round bye in the play-offs.

The Edmonton Eskimos manhandled the BC Lions in a two-game, total point series by a score of 61-15 to earn the right to face Winnipeg in the west final. In game one of the Western Final on November 11th in Edmonton, the Bombers emerged victorious with a 19-11 win. Back home in Winnipeg, the Bombers closed out the series with another win; the final score being 16-8. The Big Blue were off to defend their Grey Cup title.

The traditional nemesis of the Bombers during the Grant Era was the Hamilton Tiger Cats and 1959 was no different. The Tabby-cats had squeaked out a hard fought two-game, total point series over Ottawa Rough Riders by a 26-24 score to advance to the 47th Annual Grey Cup, held at Exhibition Stadium in Toronto on November 28th.

Blue Bomber running back Charlie Shepard was named the Most Valuable Player in Winnipeg's 21-7 victory over Hamilton. Shepard set CFL Grey Cup records with 17 punts in the game and 782 yards in punting that day and the Bombers had their second consecutive Grey Cup championship under Head Coach Bud Grant.

The 1959 Winnipeg Blue Bombers Football team is also a member of the Tribune Sports Hall of Fame. 

Video Gallery

1959 & 1962 Winnipeg Blue Bombers Acceptance Speech